The battle of youth verses experience moves to the Eastern Cape, for the fifth round of the 2005 South African National Formula Vee Championship, to be run at Port Elizabeth’s Aldo Scribante Raceway on the 11 June. Racing gets underway at 12h30 and includes events for Regional Motorcycles and Regional Cars, with the two National Championship Formula Vee races scheduled for 13h30 and 15h00, followed by a non-championship event at 15h30.

Heading the entry will be the reigning Champion Symm Gorbler (No1 Auto Mecca Rhema 2) and Alan Holm (No2 JBS Lasersprint Rhema 2), along with Holm’s teammates Jaco Schriks (No4 JBS Lasersprint Rhema 2) and Gareth Jackson (No21 JBS Lasersprint Sting). Up against them, will be the talented teenage Karters, Andre Van Der Merwe (No72 ACC Airconditioning Rhema 2), Kyle Bennett (No16 Rhema), Trevor Bland (No14 AC DC Dynamics Rhema) and Laurent Calkoen (No66 Autoquip/Mail & Guardian Vision). Unfortunately Dennis Johns will not be making the trip, after his frightening accident at the recent Zwartkops event and at the time of writing, it was still unclear whether Zwartkops race winner Anthony Taylor (No77 Rigidek Rhema 2) and development driver Benny Phetla (No9 Lotto Vision), would be making the trip to Port Elizabeth.

Cape Town should be well represented, with Doug MacDonald (No11 Rhema), Chris Danks (No23 Stalcor Rhema 2), Romanie Smithdorf (No24 Lantis) and another Rhema for Johan MacDonald, all planning to compete in the event.

With most of the competitors expected to run the Dunlop Semi Slick tyre, a dry race will see the current Formula Vee lap record shattered and if the recent Zwartkops event was anything to go by, the racing should be desperately close and highly competitive.

National Championship Points:

1 Symm Grobler 98 2 Alan Holm 79 3 Andre Van Der Merwe 71 4 Anthony Taylor 57 5 Dennis Johns 48 6 Kyle Bennett 43 7 Jannie Geyser 41 8 Peter Hills 31 9 Chris Danks 21 10 Trevor Bland 20

Original article from Car