Formula Vee Racing continues to be an ideal breeding ground, for the racing stars of the future, pitting the Young Guns against Seasoned Veterans and ensuring a proper evaluation of their ability. Round four, of the 2005 South African National Formula Vee Championship, to be run at the Zwartkops World of Motoring on the 14th May 2005, offers the opportunity to see the latest crop of rising stars, take on some highly talented veterans of Formula Vee racing, including at least three ex Champions. The event includes Regional Championship events for Formula Ford and VW Challenge, a combined event for Thundercars and Free State Saloons, Club Championship events for Super Hatch, Wynn’s Legends Saloons, BMW Boxer Cup Africa motorcycles and Michelin Thunderbikes, an invitation Alfa Trofee event and a Sports Racing Car Endurance Race, to round off the day.

Heading the Formula Vee entry, will be the current National Champion and 2005 log leader, Symm Grobler (No1 Automecca Rhema 2), backed up by the 2000 Title Holder Dennis Johns (No7 Goldco Midas Rhema 2) and the 1997 and 1998 National Champion, Anthony Taylor (No77 Rigidek Rhema 2). All three have already won races this year, along with Alan Holm (No2 JBS Lasersprint Rhema 2). Lined up against them, will be teenage Karters Andre Van Der Merwe (No72 ACC Airconditioning Rhema 2), Kyle Bennett (No16 Rhema), Laurent Calkoen (No66 Vision) and Trevor Bland (No14 AC DC Dynamics Rhema). Van Der Merwe could well be knocking on the door, of his first win in the category, while Bennett and Clakoen have shown that they have the pace, to get close to the front and Bland will be hoping that he has finally cured the misfire, that has been hampering his progress, the last few races.

Someone else who will also be hoping to challenge for the lead, is Jaco Schriks (No4 JBS Lasersprint Rhema 2), while Jannie Geyser (No20 Vision), has already produced some good results this year and should be not far behind. Challenging him, will be the likes of Kevin Cartmell (No17 Rand Brake Sting), Cape Town’s Chris Danks (No23 Stalcor Rhema 2) and the other Capetonian in the field, Doug MacDonald (No11 Rhema). Missing from the lineup, will be Peter Hills who still needs to replace the Rhema that was written off at the WesBank Raceway event but Ben Pienaar could be back, in the Rhema he crashed at Zwartkops more than a year ago, or alternatively, in his old Vision.

As usual, there should be battles raging all the way down the field and other drivers worth watching out for, include development drivers Benny Phetla (No9 Lotto Vision) and Kearn Francis (No30 Lotto Rhema), as well as Claude Cartmell (No19 Rand Brake Sting), Gareth Jackson (No21 JBS Lasersprint Sting), Bobby Nel (No25 Mantis), JP Nortje (No33 Sting), Manie Geldenhuis (No29 Lagus), Jaco Greyling (No54 Rhema) and John Lerm (No55 Sting).

National Championship Points:

1 Symm Grobler 81 2 Alan Holm 55 3 Andre Van Der Merwe 52 4 Dennis Johns 38 5 Jannie Geyser 38 6 Kyle Bennett 32 7 Peter Hills 31 8 Anthony Taylor 26 9 Chris Danks 21 10 Bobby Nel 16

Original article from Car