The finalists in each of the six categories for the 2019 World Car Awards have been announced, with the winners of the year set to be revealed at the New York International Auto Show on April 17.

The organisers of the awards have named the ten finalists in the running for the World Car of the Year title (drawn from this initial list of candidates), along with the five finalists in each of the Urban Car, Luxury Car, Performance Car, Green Car and Car Design categories.

A jury of 86 international automotive journalists selected the finalists by secret ballot based on their respective evaluations of each candidate “as part of their professional work”.

Check out all of the finalists in each of the categories below. On March 5 at the Geneva International Motor Show, each list will be whittled down to three finalists…

World Car finalists:

Audi e-tron
BMW 3 Series
Ford Focus
Genesis G70
Hyundai Nexo
Jaguar I-Pace
Mercedes-Benz A-Class
Suzuki Jimny
Volvo S60/V60
Volvo XC40

World Urban Car finalists:

Audi A1
Hyundai AH2/Santro (Atos)
Kia Soul
Seat Arona
Suzuki Jimny

World Luxury Car finalists:

Audi A7
Audi Q8
BMW 8 Series
Mercedes-Benz CLS
Volkswagen Touareg

World Performance Car finalists:

Aston Martin Vantage
BMW M2 Competition
Hyundai Veloster N
McLaren 720S
Mercedes-AMG GT 4-Door Coupé

World Green Car finalists:

Audi e-tron
Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid
Hyundai Nexo
Jaguar I-Pace
Kia Niro EV

World Car Design finalists:

Citroën C5 Aircross
Jaguar E-Pace
Jaguar I-Pace
Suzuki Jimny
Volvo XC40

Original article from Car