The three finalists in each of the five categories of the 2020 World Car Awards have been announced.

In February 2020, the organisers named the ten finalists in the running for the main 2020 World Car of the Year award, but now that list has been whittled down to just three.

The Kia Telluride, Mazda CX-30 and Mazda3 will battle it out for the overall title, which means the Hyundai Sonata, Kia Soul EV, Range Rover Evoque, Mercedes-Benz’s CLA and GLB, and Volkswagen’s Golf and T-Cross failed to make the cut for the main award.

Still, the top three finalists in the four other categories have also been named. The Kia Soul EV, Mini SE and VW T-Cross will contest the World Urban Car award, while the Mercedes-Benz EQC, Porsche 911 and Porsche Taycan will fight for the World Luxury Car title.

The World Performance Car award will go to a Porsche seeing as the top three are the 718 Spyder/Cayman GT4, 911 and Taycan, while one of the Mazda3, Peugeot 208 and Taycan will drive away with the World Car Design trophy.

A jury of 86 international automotive journalists selected the finalists by secret ballot based on their evaluation of each eligible vehicle "as part of their professional work". The winners are scheduled to be revealed at the New York International Auto Show on 8 April 2020 ... assuming concerns around the coronavirus don’t see the show cancelled, that is.

Check out the three finalists in each category below:

World Car of the Year
Kia Telluride
Mazda CX-30

World Urban Car
Kia Soul EV
Mini SE
Volkswagen T-Cross

World Luxury Car
Mercedes-Benz EQC
Porsche 911
Porsche Taycan

World Performance Car
Porsche 718 Spyder/Cayman GT4
Porsche 911
Porsche Taycan

World Car Design of the Year
Peugeot 208
Porsche Taycan

Original article from Car