The International Engine + Powertrain of the Year for 2019 has been announced, with Ferrari claiming a record-breaking fourth consecutive overall title with its 3,9-litre V8 turbopetrol.
The engine does duty in the Portofino, 488 GTB and 488 Pista (as well as the upcoming F8 Tributo).

Perhaps even more astounding, though, is the fact Jaguar came second overall with its full electric powertrain utilised in the I-Pace – the closest an electric powertrain has ever come to taking overall honours. This surely points to the rise of the electric vehicle and is confirmed by the I-Pace winning both European and World Car Of the Year awards.

The Mercedes-AMG 4,0-litre V8 turbopetrol, meanwhile, took the final step on the podium.

Of course, the world of powertrain technology is changing at a rapid pace. Engine capacity, the previous benchmark for engine performance, is no longer as relevant because of turbocharging, hybrid application and fully electric powertrains. It was therefore decided to rejig the competition to reflect the changes in the industry.

According to Dean Slavnich, editor-in-chief of Engine + Powertrain Technology International magazine, a change was needed: “For this year we’ve done away with the displacement judging process, and instead we are categorising all engines in power bands”.

The new categories and winners can be seen below.

Award category Winning engine
Overall International Engine of the Year Ferrari 3,9-litre V8 turbopetrol
Best New Engine Jaguar Land Rover full-electric powertrain
Best Hybrid Powertrain BMW 1,5-litre three-cylinder electric-petrol hybrid
Best Electric Powertrain Jaguar Land Rover full-electric powertrain
Best Performance Engine Ferrari 3,9-litre V8 turbopetrol
Sub 150 PS (110 kW) Ford 1,0-litre three-cylinder turbopetrol
150 PS to 250 PS (110 kW to 184 kW) Audi 2,0-litre four-cylinder turbopetrol
250 PS to 350 PS (184 kW to 257 kW) Porsche 2,5-litre flat four-cylinder turbopetrol
350 PS to 450 PS (257 kW to 331 kW) Jaguar Land Rover full-electric powertrain
450 PS to 550 PS (331 kW to 405 kW) Mercedes-AMG 4,0-litre V8 turbopetrol
550 PS to 650 PS (405 kW to 478 kW) Ferrari 3,9-litre V8 turbopetrol
Above 650 PS (478 kW) Ferrari 3,9-litre V8 turbopetrol
Above 4,0-litre Ferrari 6,5-litre V12


* The competition is judged by a fully independent, international panel of 70 industry experts – including CAR magazine’s very own technical editor, Nicol Louw.


Original article from Car