The seven finalists in the running to win the 2019 iteration of the European Car of the Year award have been revealed.

The news comes after a first vote by the 60 jury members, with the final voting process to declare the overall winner set to take place in March 2019. After each juror apportions 25 points among at least five finalists, the winner will be announced just before the Geneva International Motor Show on 4 March 2019.

So, which seven vehicles are in the running for the European Car of the Year title? The finalists are (in alphabetical order) the Alpine A110, the Citroën C5 Aircross, the Ford Focus, the Jaguar I-Pace, the Kia Ceed, the Mercedes-Benz A-Class and the Peugeot 508.

Interestingly, only one (the A-Class) of the seven above has so far launched in South Africa, with the Ford Focus and Jaguar I-Pace set to follow.

The Volvo XC40 won the award in 2018. In 2017, the Peugeot 3008 took top honours, while the Opel Astra triumphed in 2016, the Volkswagen Passat in 2015, the Peugeot 308 in 2014 and the Volkswagen Golf in 2013.

Original article from Car