Sebastien Loeb in a Peugeot won the second stage of Dakar 2019, although Toyota Gazoo Racing SA’s Giniel de Villiers managed to grab the overall lead in his Hilux.

De Villiers was fourth on Stage 2, behind Mini’s Nani Roma and Toyota teammate Bernhard ten Brinke.

Ten Brinke’s effort on the 342 km stage between Pisco and San Juan de Marcona was enough to move him into second position in the overall standings, some 28 seconds behind De Villiers. Nasser Al-Attiyah, meanwhile, had to settle for eleventh place on the stage, which saw him fall to eighth overall.

“We are very happy with our performances all round today,” said Toyota Gazoo Racing SA team prinicpal, Glyn Hall. “Nasser and Mathieu were superb at the head of the field; and the other two crews delivered superb drives that have put us at the head of the overall standings.”

Mini’s Stephane Peterhansel, meanwhile, lost almost twenty minutes stuck in the dunes.

Stage 3 is 331 km long and takes place in the dunes of Acari, with a total liaison of 460 km.

Stage 2 results:

1. Loeb (Peugeot)
2. Roma (Mini): +00:08
3. Ten Brinke (Toyota): +01:20
4. De Villiers (Toyota ): +01:31
5. Al Rajhi (Mini): +02:33
6. Despres (Mini): +03:14
7. Hunt (Peugeot): +03:24
8. Sainz (Mini): +04:40
9. Fuchs (Prototype): +05:01
10. Vasilyev (Toyota): +05:36


Overall standings:

1. De Villiers (Toyota)
2. Ten Brinke (Toyota): +00:28
3. Roma (Mini): +00:42
4. Al Rajhi (Mini): +00:50
5. Loeb (Peugeot): +01:56
6. Sainz (Mini): +02:28
7. Hunt (Peugeot): +02:38
8. Al-Attiyah (Toyota): +03:26
9. Despres (Mini): +03:28
10. Vasilyev (Toyota): +03:43

Original article from Car