Mini’s Carlos Sainz stretched his lead in the overall standings at Dakar 2020 after winning Stage 10, which took place between Haradh to Shubaytah.

Sainz was able to take advantage of both Stephane Peterhansel and Nasser Al-Attiyah’s navigation problems, which cost them dearly. Going into the day just seconds behind Sainz, Al-Attiyah landed up in 17th on Stage 10. Peterhansel, meanwhile, finished the day in tenth. The gap between second-placed Al-Attiyah and third-placed Peterhansel sits at just 16 seconds.

Jakub Przygonski and Giniel de Villers ended the stage in second and third respectively, not too far behind Sainz. A surprise result came from Pierre Lachaume in a Peugeot 2008 DKR, crossing the line in fourth place, six minutes and 10 seconds behind Sainz. This pushes him into the top 10 overall. Despite a series of inconsistent results, including a 12th place finish in this stage, Mathieu Serradori retained eighth position in the overall standings.

Toyota’s Fernando Alonso rolled his Hilux, which resulted in delay of one hour and 17 minutes. The Spaniard now sits in 14th in the overall standings.

Stage 10 results:

1. Sainz (Mini)
2. Przygonski (Mini): +03:05
3. De Villiers (Toyota): +04:26
4. Lachaume (Peugeot): +06:10
5. Al Rajhi (Toyota): +06:30
6. Ten Brinke (Toyota): +06:40
7. Van Loon (Toyota): +07:49
8. Terranova (Mini): +07:58
9. Han (Geely): +08:26
10. Peterhansel: +11:48

Overall ranking:

1. Sainz (Mini)
2. Al-Attiyah (Toyota): +18:10
3. Peterhansel (Mini): +18:26
4. Al Rajhi (Toyota): +40:46
5. Terranova (Mini): +57:39
6. De Villiers (Toyota): 01:02:23
7. Ten Brinke (Toyota): +01:15:39
8. Serradori (SRT): +01:37:21
9. Seaidan (Mini): +02:49:28
10. Lachaume (Peugeot): +03:28:16


Original article from Car