It looks as though every stage is claiming a new winner so far in this year’s Dakar. The third leg took competitors across Neom which consisted of fast tracks for the first 100 km. This stage saw an impressive performance from Carlos Sainz, as well as some other Dakar rookies.

Claiming the top spot was the Spanish rally driver who piloted his Mini X-Raid a full 4 minutes 19 seconds ahead of the pack, placing him in the top spot of the overall ranking. This is Sainz’s 33rd stage win of his career. Thanks to a consistent performance, including a fifth-place finish of this stage, Toyota racer Nasser Al-Attiyah now ranks second.

Two notable underdogs of the last day include Saudi locals Yasir Seaidan (Mini) and Yazeed Al Rajhi (Toyota), both of whom placed in the top 10. Al Rajhi affirms his fourth place position in the overall standing.

After a troublesome start, Fernando Alonso seems to have gotten into the groove with his Hilux after claiming fourth place in the stage. Giniel De Villiers holds onto his seventh position standing after a modest ninth place finish of this stage.

Stage 3 results:

1. Sainz (Mini)
2. Przygonski (Mini): +04:19
3. Seaidan (Mini): +05:28
4. Alonso (Toyota): +06:14
5. Al-Attiyah (Toyota): +06:31
6. Al Rajhi (Toyota): +07:36
7. Peterhansel (Mini): +10:26
8. Terranova (Mini): +12:52
9. De Villiers (Toyota): +16:21
10. Ten Brinke (Toyota): +16:43

Overall standings:

1. Sainz (Mini)
2. Al-Attiyah (Toyota): +07:55
3. Terranova (Mini): +08:09
4. Al Rajhi (Toyota): +18:58
5. Peterhansel (Mini): +19:00
6. Serradori (SRT): +20:56
7. De Villiers (Toyota): +23:42
8. Ten Brinke (Toyota): +33:23
9. Prokop (Ford): +48:05
10. Zala (Mini): +59:59


Original article from Car